Meet our Allies

Stacks Image 61964
The Sunshine Tour is a men’s professional golf tour based in Southern Africa. For much of its history it was known either as the South African Tour or the FNB Tour, but it rebranded itself in an attempt to broaden its appeal. A large majority of the tour events are still staged in South Africa.

The tour is one of the six leading men’s tours which make up the International Federation of PGA Tours, which includes the PGA Tour, The European PGA Tour, The Japan Golf Tour, the PGA Tour of Australasia, and the Asian Tour. In 2009 the International Federation of PGA undertook a major expansion in 2009 adding 11 more tours as members. The federation also founded the World Golf Championships in 1999 and sanction the Official World Golf Rankings.

The Sunshine Tour currently co-sanctions four tournaments with the European Tour, these being the Alfred Dunhill Championship, the Joburg Open, the Tshwane Open and the South African Open, the second oldest championship in golf. These serve as the launch of the European Tour each season.

The Nedbank Golf Challenge, which was also c-sanctioned by the Sunshine Tour, enters a new era in 2016 as it becomes the second tournament in the three-event Final Series for the European Tour.
The Sunshine Tour also co-sanctions the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open with the Asian Tour and the European Tour.

The tour currently runs through all twelve months of the year.